The Philippine Government and the National Democratic Front of the Philippines released a joint statement on Sunday, December 22, announcing the unilateral and reciprocal nationwide ceasefire this holiday season.

The ceasefire agreement will start from December 23, 2019 until January 7, 2020.

The joint statement said that both the GRP and the NDFP would separately issue orders on their armed units for the cessation of hostilities and offensive military operations against each other.

“The ceasefires are intended to generate a positive environment conducive to the holding of informal talks preparatory to the formal meeting to resume the peace negotiations. These shall be measures of goodwill and confidence building during the traditional celebrations of Christmas and New Year holidays,” read the statement.

The joint statement was signed signed by Sec. Silvestre Bello III and Hernani Braganza from the government side and Luis Jalandoni and Fidel Agcaoili from the NDFP side.

The joint statement signing was witnessed by Kristina Lie Revheim of the Royal Norwegian Government as the Third Party Facilitator.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.