The province of Compostela Valley is now officially named Davao de Oro after an overwhelming votes for yes were cast by residents on December 7, 2019.

In the final and official result as of 9:45 pm of December 8, the Yes votes reached 174,442 while the No just garnered 5,020 votes.

The voter turnout in Saturday’s plebiscite was at 43.71 percent with only 179,953 voting out of 411,653 registered voters.

The Yes votes got 97 percent of the total votes cast while No just got 3 percent.

President Rodrigo Duterte signed Republic Act No 11297, law renaming province of Compostela Valley as Davao de Oro, last April 17, 2019.

The result of the plebiscite has ratified the said law.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.