Four Dabawenyo journalists are among those that will be recognized in the centennial celebration of the Rotary Club of Manila (RCM) on June 6, 2019 to be held at a hotel in Makati.

The annual Journalism Awards of the RCM started in 1967 and is one of the most prestigious journalism awards in the country today.

This year’s award is made more special with the celebration of RMC’s Centennial Year Milestone Celebration being the first rotary club in Asia.

The Dabawenyo journalists to be feted on Thursday are Gem Avanceña-Arenas of TV5 Davao, Junior Ortiz Digamon of Brigada News, Carmelito Francisco of Mindanao Times, and Rhona Villariasa of Sun.Star Davao.

They are recognized as best male and female regional broadcasters and best male and female regional reporters respectively.

This is the second year in a row that Dabawenyo journalists are recognized by the RCM for their outstanding contribution in journalism.

Last year’s winners were James Galay and Cheche Diabordo of DXAB Radio, Edge Davao’s Tony Ajero and Davao Breaking News’ Ben Jason Tesiorna.

Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas Governor Benjamin Diokno will be this year’s guest of honor and keynote speaker.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.