Four journalists from Davao City were given recognition by the Rotary Club Manila during its annual Journalism Awards held in a hotel in Makati City Thursday, May 17.

Rosemarie Ann Diabordo of DXAB Davao was recognized as the best regional female broadcaster; James Galay, still from DXAB Davao, as the best regional male broadcaster; Ben Jason Tesiorna as best regional male reporter; and Edge Davao, represented by its editor-in-chief Antonio Ajero, as best regional newspaper of the year.

In their short speeches, the Davao-based reporters thanked the Rotary Club of Manila for the recognition.

Tesiorna meanwhile urged RCM to always keep an eye on the journalists working from the provinces as there a lot of good reporters out there that’s deserving of recognition.

Other winners are:

Print Category:

1. Iris Gonzales of The Philippine Star (female business reporter of the year)

2. Edu Punay of The Philippine Star (male reporter of the year)

3. Marichu Villanueva of The Philippine Star (opinion writer of the year),

4. Philippine Panorama (lifestyle magazine of the year)

5. Manila Times (national newspaper of the year)

Radio Category:

1. Rowena Salvacion of dzBB, GMA 7 (radio female broadcaster of the year)

2. Vic de Leon Lima of dzMM, ABS-CBN (radio male broadcaster of the year)

3. DZEC (radio station of the year)

Television Category:

1. TV Patrol” anchor Ted Failon (Male Television Anchor of the Year)

2. “Early Edition” anchor Annalisa Burgos (Regional Female Broadcaster of the Year)

3. Broadcast journalists Doris Bigornia (Television Female Reporter of the Year)

4. RG Cruz (Television Male Reporter of the Year)

5. ABS-CBN (Television station of the year)

RCM also gave a special award to Manuel Mogato of Reuters Manila Bureau for winning the 2018 Pulitzer Prize for international reporting.

Launched in 1966, the Rotary Club of Manila Journalism Awards was organized to honor outstanding contributions of individuals in the tri-media: print, television and radio thus encouraging the proper development of Philippine Journalism.

In 1972, however, RCM stopped giving the award. The silent message was that since there was no real freedom of the press, there was no sense in holding the awards.

It was relaunched 14 years later in 1986 to encourage the proper development of Philippine Journalism.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.